DownStream Webinar: The Benefits of Design for Manufacture


Reading time ( words)

All designers want stress-free, error-free, headache-free transition of design data to manufacturing. Discovering issues during manufacturing leads to production delays and additional expenses. Avoiding these costs can be fairly easy; simply analyze your designs before committing them to fabrication.

Relying on the design rule checking function of your PCB CAD system is a good start to finding manufacturing issues, but it's simply not enough. The DRC of most CAD systems is inadequate for analyzing a design against the many nuances of the fabrication process. They perform analysis to ensure the design will perform properly, but they overlook the critical need to analyze for manufacturing errors and issues.

On Tuesday, April 17, DownStream Technologies will be holding a webinar that can answer many PCB designers’ DFM questions. This DFMStream/CAM350 webinar will provide information that can help designers identify DFM issues before fabrication.

When:

  • 9 am EDT/6 am PDT/2 pm GMT/3 pm CEST
  • 2 pm EDT/11 am PDT

To register, or for more information, click here.

Share




Suggested Items

Physics, Electrical Engineering, and PCB Design

12/09/2022 | Tamara Jovanovic, Happiest Baby
When I was a sophomore in college, I had an amazing professor for Physics II: Electricity and Magnetism. He made a series of complex topics fun to learn, and his personality and way of teaching were almost tailor-made for the way I like to learn. He explained new concepts through practical examples, and always kept students engaged throughout the class, making sure everyone understood the lectures. Physics II was an engineering prerequisite, and I didn’t mind taking the class since I really enjoyed the material. However, I did find myself wondering a few times, “Will I ever use any physics in real life?” It turns out that the answer to the question was yes.

The Test Connection: Spreading the Word About DFT

12/07/2022 | Andy Shaughnessy, PCB Design007
As signal speeds continue to increase and feature sizes decrease, PCB designers are beginning to pay greater attention to test and design for test (DFT) strategies. Bert Horner, president of The Test Connection in Hunt Valley, Maryland, is spearheading this drive to show designers the benefits of a solid DFT plan, as well as the downside of not having a test strategy. I met with Bert at PCB Carolina, where he was exhibiting and presenting a paper during the conference. We discussed his presentation, as well as why designers need to understand test and DFT issues, and why we need to see the PCB as one small—but very important—part of the entire system.

DownStream Flexes in Rigid-Flex

11/14/2022 | Andy Shaughnessy, Design007 Magazine
During PCB West, I caught up with DownStream Technologies co-founder Joe Clark and Senior Product Marketing Manager Mark Gallant. We discussed some of their latest tool updates, including a greater focus on bringing post-processing functionality, such as inter-layer analysis capability, to rigid-flex circuits. Joe also offered a look at global design trends going into 2023, as more engineers take on PCB designer roles while senior designers are retiring.



Copyright © 2022 I-Connect007 | IPC Publishing Group Inc. All rights reserved.